Kennel Hand/Dog Handler

Danielle k9 Trainer

Opiki, Palmerston North, Manawatū-Whanganui, New Zealand

Part time

Dog Groomer / Caretaker / Kennel


Sep 11

We are looking for a Part-time kennel hand to join our family-run rehab business. The hours of employment are Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday- 1pm - 5pm and Saturday, Sunday 7.30 am - 5 pm, more hours may become available as our business grows

What we need! 

A relatively fit person (you will definitely hit your step goal!) There is quite a bit of bending/lifting, although not heavy weights it takes a toll on the back so we need you to be able to cope with this

Someone who can fit in with our lifestyle and family as you will be working within our family home. 

Your duties will contain a lot of cleaning and picking up doggy doings so you can't be afraid to get dirty! 

Once fully trained you will have sole charge on your working days so can really make the job your own. 

No experience is needed School leavers/semi-retired are welcome and encouraged to apply. Full training will be given, attitude is more important to us than experience.

A love of dogs is a must as you will be providing care to our four-legged residents.

A full or restricted driving licence is essential as on occasions you will have to taxi the residents to vet appointments. (Vehicle provided). Your own transport is vital as we are rural so no public transport. 

Will be required to help out with school/shopping/housework this will be rare and only to cover staff leave.

On rare occasions, you will be required to live in to cover owners holidays.

You will be a valued member of our team, we are a relaxed bunch and as long as the dogs are happy we are happy! If you have your own dog/dogs they are welcome to join you at work as long as they behave! 

No fancy CVs are required! 

Please just send us an email ( telling us a little about yourself.

A trial shift (paid) will be required instead of a boring old interview 

Apply for this position Back to job

You must be logged in to apply to this job.